Smart IT Training
An ATG Learning Company

DOD 8570

DOD 8570 Training

Department of Defense Directive 8570

DoD 8570 provides guidance and procedures for the training, certification, and management of all government employees who conduct Information Assurance functions in assigned duty positions.  These individuals are required to carry an approved certification for their particular job classification. GIAC certifications are among those required for Technical, Management, CND, and IASAE classifications. ATG Learning offers DOD 8570 training courses that help you meet these requirements.

Who is affected by 8570?

Any full-time or part-time military service member, contractor, or local nationals with privileged access to a DoD information system performing information assurance  (security) functions — regardless of job or occupational series.

  • Office of the Secretary of Defense
  • Military Departments
  • Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff
  • Combatant Commands Office of the  Inspector General of the DoD
  • Defense Agencies
  • DoD Field Activities
  • All other organizational entities in the DoD

DoD Directive 8570

Requirements 100% of the IA professionals in DoD and DoD contractors must be certified within the next 3 years. All IA jobs will be categorized as ‘Technical’ or ‘Management’ Level I, II, or III, and to be qualified for those jobs, you must be certified.



We are Certified Partners with:

Click to Search by State

Contact Us

888-862-3784 toll free

404-252-9611 in Atlanta


Email your inquiries to:




Corporate Office


5600 Roswell Rd.

Prado Suite 9

Atlanta, GA 30342